Follower of The Way


Yep, Halloween is a Comin’

Posted in Christ and Culture by sosipater on October 25, 2007

acclaim_images_0041-0709-0607-0603.jpgI think I have had a Halloween post every year I have had this blog, so why stop now. My opinion of this “holiday” has changed somewhat over the last few years. Mainly only that I don’t see this as a clear cut issue. I think there are things about Halloween that must be rejected and some that can be embraced.

This is such a complicated issue though. Things like does anybody really know exactly how it started? Each person seems to have their own well researched opinion. And even if we nail down the origins from eons ago, does anybody do it for that reason now? Does that matter or not? I think it should, at least a little. Even though some of you may disagree, I just don’t think this is such a completely clear cut issue.

What got me to thinking was Tim Challies’ post on Halloween, found here. Tim is likewise referencing an article from Grace to You, John MacArthur’s main clearinghouse ministry. I think both are good articles and I agree with Tim for the most part.

My daughter is not of the trick-or-treating age so this isn’t a huge problem yet. My wife and I chose to let her attend a Church “fall festival” last year and will do that again this year. What I really like about Tim’s article is his focus on using this time as a way to build relationships with his neighbors. I think that is a great idea. I have done the dark house on Halloween night before, but what does that really say to my neighbors? They have no idea why I’m doing that, for all they know I’m out at a Halloween party or something. I’m pretty ashamed that I am not as creative as Tim in reaching out to my neighbors. This is something I need to endeavor, with God’s grace, to be more intentional and less apathetic about.

If anybody has any ideas to build community and get to know neighbors at future Halloweens or other traditional community oriented events and holidays (obviously without compromise), feel free to share them here.

Trick or Treat!

4 Responses to 'Yep, Halloween is a Comin’'

Subscribe to comments with RSS or TrackBack to 'Yep, Halloween is a Comin’'.

  1. daxw said,

    There’s nothing wrong with Christians giving out candy at Halloween as long as they attach a Chic tract with it. LOL
    That was a joke people.

  2. sosipater said,

    Ahhh…Chic tracks. Now thats an idea!

  3. bj77 said,

    I personally think you should stand across the street and throw candy at people.

  4. sosipater said,

    BJ,

    That does sound kind of fun actually. I think a lot of kids would get a kick out of that.

    New tradition!


Leave a Reply

