Follower of The Way


Driscoll Going Off (Deservedly So)

Posted in Christian Theology by sosipater on September 25, 2007
11 Responses to 'Driscoll Going Off (Deservedly So)'

Subscribe to comments with RSS or TrackBack to 'Driscoll Going Off (Deservedly So)'.

  1. Nick Kennicott said,

    Sweet. I love that dude.


  2. spoken like a good soldier

  3. bj77 said,

    Is this guy coming to the Civic Center anytime soon? How much is his show? He’s funny! My mom always use to listen to a stand-up Christian comic named Mike Warnke when I was a kid.

  4. sosipater said,

    BJ,

    Well, Driscoll did study Chris Rock’s comedic timing and method, but I *think* you know that he is the preaching pastor at Mars Hill Church in Seattle. I’m pretty sure this is a sermon, but it could be a speech or lecture, I’m really not sure.

  5. daxw said,

    B.J.,

    Don’t you know Seattle is loaded with comedians. Driscoll is just being relevant to his culture. Get with the times man.

  6. sosipater said,

    Dax,

    Thats right man. Seattle is also loaded with people coming to Christ and living transformed lives because of the Gospel preached at Mars Hill. I guess to some though if people are laughing at the same time they are learning, well, then thats just plain worldly and sinful. How dare they! We need to get back to how our forefathers did it darn it.

    😉

  7. daxw said,

    Russ,
    Mark Driscoll comes across to me as the obnoxious frat house guy who’s always trying to be cool for everbody. I personally don’t care for it, but you’re right. God has blessed his ministry in Seattle.

  8. sosipater said,

    Dax,

    Well man, I guess perceptions differ. You should listen to him talk about how uncool he is and considers himself a fat, old guy. Maybe I just relate to those adjectives more than you do. 🙂

    Regardless, if we say it is the content of the message that counts, then we need to judge everyone by those same standards. Thats how I see it anyway.

  9. daxw said,

    Russ,
    I’m tipping the scales at 230. I think I’ve got you by more than a few pounds. I think I need to start running wind sprints in the front yard to try and shed some of it off.

  10. bj77 said,

    RJ,
    I did not know he trained under Chris Rock. As for Seattle, are you sure they are coming to Christ, or are they just coming to Mars Hill? Just kidding….I guess it s just different strokes for different folks, whatever floats your boat, whatever blows ones hair back, to each his own, or whatever works. All kidding aside though isn’t Driscoll the one who coined the term “taking my cues from Jesus”, or was it “taking my cues from Chris Rock”! Boo-YAh! Where is my sign, DUDE!

  11. Bobby said,

    it was an exerpt from the sermon on nehemiah 13. Driscol, being the UFC fan that he is and street brawler at his core is especially attracted to Nehemiah’s angry reactions.

    And after some time I asked leave of the king 7 and came to Jerusalem, and I then discovered the evil that Eliashib had done for Tobiah, preparing for him a chamber in the courts of the house of God. 8 And I was very angry, and I threw all the household furniture of Tobiah out of the chamber. 9 Then I gave orders, and they cleansed the chambers, and I brought back there the vessels of the house of God, with the grain offering and the frankincense.

    10 I also found out that the portions of the Levites had not been given to them, so that the Levites and the singers, who did the work, had fled each to his field. 11 So I confronted the officials and said, “Why is the house of God forsaken?” And I gathered them together and set them in their stations.

    we all tend to go off when sinful actions make us angry. If we don’t, we should.


Leave a Reply

