Follower of The Way


Creation Museum Part 2

Posted in Christ and Culture,History,Origins by sosipater on May 31, 2007

I want to make a follow up post to my original creation museum post found here.  There is a great article in the Salon about the museum.  Not great because the writer was a Christian, or even believed anything proposed at the museum, but great because the writer exposed a couple of things and, seems to me, didn’t even know it.  Let me give you a couple of examples.

In the next scene, after the fall from grace, Adam and Eve, looking far less happy than before, are standing next to two lambs they have slaughtered on a sacrificial stone table. The sacrifice has a practical value — the original couple are now wearing lambskin suits and the lambs are skinless — and a spiritual one; the lambs are sacrificed, a visitor explains to me, in partial payment for the debt incurred by Adam and Eve for eating the fruit of knowledge. I tell the visitor it seems unfair for the lamb to pay for their mistake. “Well, it wasn’t enough,” he says. “God had to send his only Son to pay the ultimate price for their sin.” When I tell him that sounds kind of extreme, he looks at me and shakes his head slowly a couple of times before moving on.

Gordy (the article’s author) is exactly right, Jesus Christ dying on the cross was extreme!  Don’t you think the sinless son of God paying the penalty for sinners is extreme?  Gordy, its called extreme love.  And it makes me want to make much of a God who loves that much.

Next,

After the flood, Noah’s descendants multiply again on Earth, but not quickly or broadly enough to satisfy God, who then introduces a slew of new languages to drive people apart, resulting in their dispersal around the globe. The ensuing C-for-Confusion theme is represented through a gritty and menacing back alley postered with newspaper headlines about the rise in abortion, drug use, homosexuality and teen suicide.

The entire exhibit, in fact, is awfully grim. A montage slide show of fetuses, starving kids, swastikas, tourniquet-bound arms ready for the needle bombard the wall in a room with a soundtrack of blaring sirens, boots marching in unison, and crying kids.

Perhaps some of us need a “grim” reminder of the fact that evil and sin reign in the hearts of man, and that the only thing that can do anything about it is the extreme sacrifice of Jesus.  Really good article, I recommend it.  I would love to hear what you think, and what else you would have told Gordy Slack (is that a cool name or what?)

5 Responses to 'Creation Museum Part 2'

Subscribe to comments with RSS or TrackBack to 'Creation Museum Part 2'.

  1. daxw said,

    Russ,
    Am I the only one reading your blog? I read a lot of athiest blogs that were linked to the article above. Sure is a lot of irrationality on the “rational” side of things. Ken Ham made a good comment in the first post you had “you have museums all over the world, why are you so worried about my little museum”(paraphrased) I don’t know what the fuss is about on the evolutionist side. Many(most) Christians are allowing them to teach their children every day. I’m thankful that God gave Ken Ham the vision for this museum. I know it will challenge many. As for Gordy Slack, I thought it actually was a good article considering where he stands on the matter. I hope the more press the museum gets the more people will want to check it out for themselves.

  2. sosipater said,

    Mr. Dax,

    Well, you are pretty much the only one commenting (except the one comment by Pete), which I am thankful for! I know there are more reading, at least looking at it. ???

    RJ

  3. kennicon said,

    I read it — but am usually reserving my comments for private discussions because Russ usually needs some exhorting and/or reproof.

  4. bj77 said,

    Nick,
    Ditto! Russ does need exhorting. Especially from November to March. I recently contacted Grant Jefferey from the Bible Code research team. I am convinced that keywords such as RJ, UNC, Satanic Goat Mascot, MJ, Berkley, and possibly reprobate show up in the Torah if tested. 😉

  5. sosipater said,

    BJ,

    Jealousy is an ugly emotion. This is a “University of New Jersey at Durham” free zone.

    Nick,

    I would comment on your comment, but don’t want to get exhorted or reproofed. Are you speaking the King James English only now?

    RJ


Leave a Reply

