Follower of The Way


Upcoming…ahem…Debate

Posted in Christ and Culture,Christian Theology by sosipater on May 2, 2007

I came across something I think is blogworthy, but don’t quite know how to address it, so here goes.  According to an article in The Christian Post, Christian author and evangelist Ray Comfort, along with actor/fellow evangelist Kirk Cameron, will be debating a couple of athiests on the existence of God.  Here’s what the article says:

“Most people equate atheism with intellectualism,” explained Comfort in a statement, “but it’s actually an intellectual embarrassment. I am amazed at how many people think that God’s existence is a matter of faith. It’s not, and I will prove it at the debate – once and for all. This is not a joke. I will present undeniable scientific proof that God exists.”

Comfort and Cameron run a ministry called “The Way of the Master”, primarily equipping Christians to share their faith with unbelievers.  My experience is that their ministry is somewhat controversial in that they have some solid elements to their teaching, i.e. they emphasize the use of the law to convict people of their sin and they really hammer easy believism and watered-down proclamations of the Gospel.  At the same time, Comfort is known for street preaching/evangelizing which puts off some Christians and they are not reformed enoughed for others.  Hence, they get criticized I believe from different quarters.

Now my church taught the Way of the Master class a while back, and while I wouldn’t agree with everything in it, I thought it had some very useful things and some good stuff to offer.  The worst part of the study in my opinion was the apologetics sections.  Some of the things they did made me wince.  One example:  calling an airline and asking if they could get a seat for a chimp.  This was obviously a spoof of evolution.  Well, on a similar vein they do this thing about a banana that is their version of some kind of teleological/design argument for creation.  As a matter of fact, Steve McCoy slammed this pretty hard recently on his blog here

So even though I am for the most part supportive of Comfort and Cameron’s ministry and encouraged by their zeal for evangelism, I am definitely apprehensive about their debate challenge and can’t really say I’m looking forward to it.  The fact that he says it is not a joke does not make me feel any better.  I hope (and pray) that I am wrong.  We’ll see.  What do you all think?

3 Responses to 'Upcoming…ahem…Debate'

Subscribe to comments with RSS or TrackBack to 'Upcoming…ahem…Debate'.

  1. daxw said,

    I truly appreciate Ray Comfort’s ministry, but it seems that when he debates atheists he usually gets beat up.Maybe the outcome will be different this time. We’ll see.

  2. sosipater said,

    Dax,

    I agree. We’ll see. Looks like ABC is going to air this some time within the next week. Check your local listings!

  3. bj77 said,

    Undeniable, scientific proof, huh? I’m with you on this one RJ. I am not looking foward to this. I hope they come packing something more than a Del Monte Fruit snack for their undeniable, scientific proof. I remember the class a couple of years ago (Way of the Master) and thought every single argument they had could be shot down easily, and these atheist are not stupid (at least not at first glance). Comfort and Camron’s best chance for an easy point in the debate is to focus on the inconsistency within their worldview, and although I think the “bulletproof” element of Van Til’s TAG is not all it is cracked up to be, it could prove useful in dismantling the front of atheism as an “intellegent, rational worldview.” My .02

    Is it going to be a formal debate with cross examination, or a panel format?


Leave a Reply

