Follower of The Way


Why This Scientist Believes in God?

Posted in Christ and Culture by sosipater on April 5, 2007

CNN has an article by Dr. Francis Collins entitled “Why This Scientist Believes in God?”  Any thoughts?

3 Responses to 'Why This Scientist Believes in God?'

Subscribe to comments with RSS or TrackBack to 'Why This Scientist Believes in God?'.

  1. bj77 said,

    Well, he seems to be certain that it is in fact the God of Christianity that exist. I wonder though about his so called “leap of faith.” This sounds existential to me. Once you commit to the existential “leap of faith” scenario, there is no argument or rational to turn to. What I mean is, it is fideism.
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Fideism

    I still need to read up on the common descent thing. Sometimes I wonder about these scientist that claim to be a Believer, but wont give up evolutionary premises. Do you think it has something to do with keeping their “status” as a respectable authority in their field? I remember that conference at IPC a while back, and those guys seem to suggest that once you cross the line and join the young earth hypothesis, literal 6 day, or any of that non-evolutionary you are cast out by peers. Such is the case when you push the antithesis. Just my .02

  2. peculiarbaptist said,

    The only problem I see with Dr. Francis Collins is that in his affirmation of evolution, and by that I assume he means human as well as animal, is why did Christ come? If man evolved than whence came the sin nature? I haven’t seen any assertion of his regarding the origin of sin. In fact his statement regard those of us who view the early chapters of Genesis as literal historical narrative seem to suggest that he can not answer that question unless he subscribes to what we believe.

  3. sosipater said,

    I think the “leap of faith” statement has to be understood in context, but probably does carry some sort of a fideistic idea. He would have to explain it a little more I think in order to make a firm conclusion.

    The whole young earth vs. old earth/evolution debate is a strange thing for me. While I uphold the young earth system, I hate to base someone’s orthodoxy on this belief alone.


Leave a Reply

