Follower of The Way


Tom Ascol on Family Worship

Posted in Christ and Culture,Christian Theology by sosipater on March 29, 2007

Joe Thorn conducted a very thorough interview with Tom Ascol on family worship.  You can (and really should) check it out here.  This is a great article and I hope and pray that there would be a revival of family worship among Christians today.  It is really something we are commanded to do, especially us dads, as part of discipling our familys and raising Children under The Lord’s instruction.  My guess is we will see the results of God’s favor in our families, churches, and culture if we were to be diligent about leading our families in this area.

Coram Deo.

13 Responses to 'Tom Ascol on Family Worship'

Subscribe to comments with RSS or TrackBack to 'Tom Ascol on Family Worship'.

  1. daxw said,

    Russ,
    I recently checked out a book on family worship from the Rincon library. It was by Terry Johnson. In the back it had all of the Psalms set to tunes of many well known hymns. I think I’m going to buy it. It was full of many great ideas for family worship. This is definitely one area that I think we are challenged to apply on a consistent basis. Good post.

  2. bj77 said,

    Does the Bible command us to disciple non- Covenant members, or Covenant members? Dax, I can get you a discount on that book soon;)

  3. bj77 said,

    I am sorry…I mispoke. I meant “Does the Bible command us to disciple Covenant members, or pagans. Saying non-Covenant members is nonsensical.

  4. sosipater said,

    Dax,

    Good words. I would stay away from the Presbyterian literature though. 🙂

    BJ,

    It is not surprising you mispoke since paedobaptistic covenant theology has to check its theological system before the scriptures, so confusion can aboud.

    To answer your question, you first need to clarify which biblical covenant you are talking about, like the Bible does. Since I reject your presupp that the “covenant of grace” is entirely equitable to the Abrahamic covenant and I also reject your reductionistic understanding of the Abrahamic covenant as practically a purely spirtitual convenant, I can’t answer your ambiguous question. In the New Covenant “in Christ’s blood” we are commanded to disciple baptised believers in all that Christ has taught. We are also commanded to raise our children in the admonition of God. There is no place for a “dual covenant status” so I have no problem teaching my daughter the gospel in hope that The Holy Spirit will make her a child of Abraham, i.e. the “spiritual” children that have circumcised hearts and then are to be baptised under this, the fulfilled completely “renewed” covenant.

    Hope that answered your question.

  5. daxw said,

    B.J.,
    I’m going to hold you to that discount offer.

  6. bj77 said,

    Actually, I does’nt answer my question. I simply asked if we are commanded to disciple pagans, or Covenant members. Why are you asking me about the CoG? And who said it is the same as the Abrahamic Covenant? When did I say I have a reductionistic view of the Abrahamic Covenant? Chezzz….I ask a simple question and all I get is Reformed Baptist “backlash.” As far as your daughter is concerned..I don’t mind if you borrow from my worldview in order that she might except the Gospel. However, teaching your beatiful little girl the Gospel is a far cry from teaching her to pray, “Our father, who art in heaven…..” Thats why I was wondering whether or not we should disiciple pagans, or Covenant members. It seems sort of blasphemous to require a pagan to address of Father in Heaven. Would you agree?

  7. bj77 said,

    Russ,
    Just retract my last comment.

  8. sosipater said,

    BJ,

    The reason I said that about the COG and the AC is because you have to believe that in order to believe in baptizing infants. It is part and parcel. Did you not know that?

    What is a pagan to you? I guess you’re saying a pagan is anyone who has not been baptized, cuz you are assuming baptized people are not pagans, whether they have trusted in Christ or not? My “worldview” is that pagans are unbelievers.

    As far as discipling pagans, I let my wife know you think she is a pagan. 🙂 Seriously, its not a problem for me. When I speak of discipling my family it is keeping the Gospel in front of them. No different from what any Christian should do, peado or not. Wouldn’t someone who baptized their infant, and that infant grows up to be a “covenant breaker”, be guilty of discipling a pagan? Or were they not a pagan because they were baptized (my original question), and then became a pagan at some point because they rejected the gospel, and their baptism too I guess?

  9. bj77 said,

    Tardheel you asked:
    What is a pagan to you? I guess you’re saying a pagan is anyone who has not been baptized, cuz you are assuming baptized people are not pagans, whether they have trusted in Christ or not? My “worldview” is that pagans are unbelievers.

    Dookie said:
    Pagan to me: those outside of the visible church, and that can be brought into only by baptism.

    Visible Church: those marked out by baptism, either by a profession or by birth.

    In my view, if a baptized covenant member “walks away” they to not regain “pagan” status. They are considered apostate.

    You also said:
    As far as discipling pagans, I let my wife know you think she is a pagan.

    Dookie said:
    Thats fine. I will tell her that you told me that “your” worldview considered the unbaptized as pagan (defined above by you). Your daughter has not been baptized, because she hasnt believed. Therefore, your daughter is pagan. Thats your worldview, not mine. Shoot your own self in the foot if you like;) Tardheel!

    Actually, in my “worldview” your daughter is not a pagan. She is a Covenant member whos daddy want include her. Thats alright though her heavenly father who she prays to, as any Covenant member should, does and always will so long as He is God. So tell your wife about my worldview after you tell her about yours;)

    Lastly you said:
    Seriously, its not a problem for me. When I speak of discipling my family it is keeping the Gospel in front of them. No different from what any Christian should do, peado or not. Wouldn’t someone who baptized their infant, and that infant grows up to be a “covenant breaker”, be guilty of discipling a pagan?

    Dookie:
    No. They would have discipled an apostate.

    Tardheel:
    Or were they not a pagan because they were baptized (my original question), and then became a pagan at some point because they rejected the gospel, and their baptism too I guess?

    Dookie:
    To answer your orignal question, no they were apostate. Children, like adults, who are outside of teh visible church (New Israel) are pagans. I hope that clears up our terms.

    In closing, referring back to your first response to me you concluded with this statement:

    the “spiritual” children that have circumcised hearts and then are to be baptised under this, the fulfilled completely “renewed” covenant.

    How do you know my child, or yours for that matter, does not have said circumcised heart? How do you know that anyone baptized in a baptist church, who professes, has a circumcised heart?

  10. bj77 said,

    Sorry about the point by point breakdown. I know you are over all that “debate” stuff. So you dont need to indulge me unless you want to.

  11. bj77 said,

    One more thing…..
    Have your household keep our household in prayer. Laura’s dad is in Hospice and they are telling us he want come home.

    He is Risen,
    Dookie.

  12. bj77 said,

    I keep using “want” instead of “won’t.” Excuse the typos.

  13. sosipater said,

    BJ,

    Will keep your household in our prayers. We can continue this debate another time.

    Russ


Leave a Reply

