Follower of The Way


Raising a Pharisee

Posted in Education by sosipater on March 12, 2007

Loving this post over at Justin Taylor’s blog.  How to Raise a Pharisee.  Obviously this is the last thing I want my daughter to be.  Hopefully, with The Lord’s grace, my wife and I can do the opposite of the actions on this list.

5 Responses to 'Raising a Pharisee'

Subscribe to comments with RSS or TrackBack to 'Raising a Pharisee'.

  1. daxw said,

    Russ,
    Loving it? All of it? What are your thoughts on point 6?

  2. sosipater said,

    Dax,

    Point 6?

    I guess my thoughts would be that I think it lines up great with John 17:15. The issue is balance and extreme separation. I don’t know if you read it as anti-homeschool, but I didn’t. Just an anti-“we are better than you because you don’t homeschool(or whatever) and I won’t let my children associate with you because you don’t agree with us 100%”. Or even that somehow letting our children attend a youth service (provided the youth service is biblically based) will cause irreparable harm to them and shove them toward some Darwinian black hole of beliefs.

    Do you disagree?

  3. sosipater said,

    Dax,

    And also, as the comments suggest, this could be a danger for non-homeschool families also. I don’t think anyone is picking on homeschoolers. I love homeschooling! But I think this is an easier danger for them to fall into.

    Again, do you disagree? I don’t have the firsthand experience you do and may be missing something.

  4. daxw said,

    Russ,
    I started to respond more in depth but it was just too long. I’ll talk to you more in depth later. I guess the whole question here is what each of us consider to be a balanced approach. Not wanting my children to participate in a completely 100% entertainment driven youth group is not extreme to me. Not that I’m against having any type of fun, but I’m struggling to find any balance in what I see going on in most youth groups. If home schooled children aren’t being completely withdrawn and are socializing with like minded friends then the author accuses them of favoritism(Point 9) My whole problem is that the majority of negative critism on Christian home education is coming from within the church not the other way around. I’ve been hearing it a little more here lately than usual so that is the reason for my response to this piece. I’d like to talk to you more in depth about it the next time we get together. By the way, I was in no way implying you were against home schooling.(although the author appears to be) Sorry if it came across that way.
    Dax

  5. sosipater said,

    Dax,

    Ok, I hear ya. Since this is a hot and important topic let me just say a couple of things.

    I don’t want my child in a 100% entertainment driven youth group either. I think that makes a mockery of The Church and the Cross of Christ. I know you know I agree with you on this. I don’t think the author was against homeschooling though. I think his point was to make sure we don’t make our children think we are better than others just because we disagree. That is not an easy thing to do I am sure. We’ll have to talk more.

    Thanks for taking the time to comment. Wish there were more of your tribe!


Leave a Reply

