Follower of The Way


85′ Bear Mystique

Posted in Miscellaneous by sosipater on January 30, 2007

I thought this was an interesting article over at MSNBC Sports about the obsession that Chicago has over the 85′ Superbowl Champion football team.  What is interesting to me is that the obsession went far beyond Chicago, and I can remember being a Falcon loving 9th grader in 1985, but recording the “Super Bowl Shuffle” on our new fangled VCR thing and being fascinated with Jim McMahon and William “The Refrigerator” Perry.  I even remember the game and the score (46-10), right?  No other Superbowl, until the Falcons made it, has so thoroughly held my attention.  I vaguely remember some of the Superbowls of the San Francisco 49er led Joe Montana, but nothing like my reminiscence of the 85′ game.

Maybe it was the newfound VCR and the beginnings of media overexposure.  Possibly it was the personalities involved.  Whatever it was, it sure was cool.

6 Responses to '85′ Bear Mystique'

Subscribe to comments with RSS or TrackBack to '85′ Bear Mystique'.

  1. daxw said,

    I remember the Super Bowl Shuffle like it was yesterday. Then I realize it was over 20 years ago. Man I feel old.

  2. bj77 said,

    46-10 is the correct score. Whats more, “Sweetness” did not even score, that is Walter Payton, and the “Fridge” did. Besides Jim McMahon, Walter Payton, and Willie Guilt on offense, the Bears were known that year for their “46” defense that was invented by Buddy Ryan. This is usually voted as the greatest team in history. I guess thats debatable though.

  3. sosipater said,

    BJ,

    Yep, I remember Willie Gault and the infamous Buddy Ryan. And sweetness was the man.

  4. bj77 said,

    You dont remember Willie Guilt though? Hmmm…me either come to think of it. 🙂

  5. daxw said,

    B.J.-You’re always bringing up topics for debate.:)

  6. sosipater said,

    Lol.

    Yea, I saw the “Guilt” fopaux, but was chalking it up to a Freudian slip.


Leave a Reply

