Follower of The Way


Travellin’ Man

Posted in Miscellaneous by sosipater on October 2, 2006

This past weekend my family and I were in the Atlanta area for a wedding and were able to visit Lake Ridge Church with a few friends of mine.  This is the latest church plant by Ed Stetzer, director of research and Missiologist at the SBC North American Mission Board.  My friends and I got to meet Ed and chat with him for a few minutes.  It was great time and I was blessed by the worship and warm fellowship that we had there.

4 Responses to 'Travellin’ Man'

Subscribe to comments with RSS or TrackBack to 'Travellin’ Man'.

  1. peculiarbaptist said,

    Hey Russ glad you had a good time wanted to update you regarding my blog. I’ve shut it down and removed it from the ranks of blogspot until and if I sit down and decide what I really want to do with a blog. So you might want to remove it from your blog roll.

    Pete

  2. sosipater said,

    Ok Pete, you are officially deleted! Let me know when/if you return to the blogosphere.

  3. daxw said,

    I thought you were starting to lean toward the emerging church movement.Just kidding. Hey, I was reading Lake Ridges’ beliefs. I don’t know if we’ve ever talked about it, but out of curiosity-do you consider yourself a cessationist?(I hope I spelled that right)

  4. sosipater said,

    Dax,

    Yea, I consider myself a cautious cessationist. I think the cessationist position is more implied than explicit, but I think it is there. The reason I am cautious though is because I don’t know if it is as explicit as other things I believe the Bible says. Hope that make sense.

    As far as Lake Ridge, the worsphip was basically like any “contemporary” church I have been to. Guitar for music, hymms and praise songs, etc. Everything was real calm. I wouldn’t cast any stones with a church that thinks the gifts are still active but is cautious about using them. CJ Mahaney’s denom comes to mind as well as Piper and Grudem.


Leave a Reply

