Follower of The Way


Articles

Posted in Christ and Culture,Government & Politics by sosipater on August 28, 2006

Here is what I think are a couple of interesting articles.  The first is from the USA Today and here is a spot on quote.

With schools opening around the country, it’s unfortunate that many principals and school boards are not educated on the meaning of the Establishment Clause — which can be violated, for example, if a principal asks a priest, rabbi or minister to speak at commencement exercises, thereby officially favoring that form of religion, or any specific form of religion. Such behavior would appropriately be regarded as a “state action.” But under the Free Exercise Clause, a student can express his or her personal religious beliefs in an assignment or as a valedictorian.

So read When Schools Silence God Talk.

Next is an article from the Washington Post about Rep. Katherine Harris (R-Fla) and how her Christian faith “animates” everything she does.  Good for her.  No faith/value split here.  If you don’t know what that phrase means please see Nancy Pearcy’s Total Truth.

Here’s the article:  Rep. Harris Condemns Separation of Church and State.

6 Responses to 'Articles'

Subscribe to comments with RSS or TrackBack to 'Articles'.

  1. daxw said,

    I was in Florida a couple of weeks ago visiting family. There were many ads attacking Katherine Harris. The sad part is many “Republicans” have distanced themselves from her since this is an election year. They are scared to be associated with someone who openly talks about these issues. Once again we see their loyalty is to to their pensions rather than the conservative base that put them in office.
    I have a solution to the problem these kids in secular schools keep facing about prayer and other references to God-GET OUT!!

  2. stevethomas67 said,

    Dax,
    Amen brother.How long should you bail water on the Titanic?

  3. daxw said,

    Steve,
    That is the exact analogy I was thinking of when I wrote that comment.

  4. Jesse said,

    Good stuff, Russ. It is also encouraging to hear Democratic Senator Barack Obama enter the discussion in defense of faith in public. I think the onus is on us as Christians to represent Christ well – to agressively seek to eliminate nonessential offensiveness.

    Dax & Steve – Currently, my wife is homeschooling our children, but I would advise against abandoning cultural engagement – we’ve got a mission to accomplish, and that means going where people are. Writing off Public Schools as hopeless (if I understand the Titanic analogy correctly) goes against the reason that you and I, as Christ followers, are still here on earth.

  5. sosipater said,

    Jesse,

    I agree completely with your first paragraph. Non-essential offensiveness has too often been what Christians are remembered for and that is a bad thing.

    I agree with your second paragraph, except I thing Biblically our children are not called to accomplish any missions, except to grow up honoring their father and mother who are hopefully raising them through Godly instruction. Many of us have come to the conclusion that Godly instruction is not possible in Government Schools. You may agree there, I’m not sure. Now adult interaction/engagement with the schools would be a different issue. I guess there I could agree with you. Thanks for keeping us focused on the second great commandment.

  6. daxw said,

    Jesse,
    Barack Obama considers himself to be a Christian. After reading an interview with him in Reader’s Digest I would have to say that I believe him to be very deceived on what you and I would consider to be the “essentials” of the Christian faith.
    I would like to say that I’m in full agreement with Russ’ response on public education. I would like to clarify that I am not against cultural engagement by Christians. I can not in good conscience allow someone with a secular worldview teach my children. A biblical education is the only way my children are going to be equipped to engage the culture they are surrounded by. The public education system in our country is designed for failure. Hence, the Titanic reference. If I approach the sinking Titanic with a lifeboat am I going to try and repair the ship so it can sail to safety or try to rescue those who are trapped on board?


Leave a Reply

