Follower of The Way


Youngest Megachurch Pastor

Posted in Miscellaneous by sosipater on August 16, 2006

At 28, Pastor Has Five Degrees and a 4,300-Member Flock. Church at Brook Hills leader David Platt may be youngest megachurch pastor ever.

Read the article here.

Going to try and download some of his sermons and give’em a spin.

6 Responses to 'Youngest Megachurch Pastor'

Subscribe to comments with RSS or TrackBack to 'Youngest Megachurch Pastor'.

  1. daxw said,

    So he uses the Southern “Baptist” denomination to help accomplish(fund) his missional goals, but does not want to give them credit for it by leaving Baptist out of their name. Interesting.

  2. sosipater said,

    Dax,

    I guess you are referring to this quote from the article. – “The Church at Brook Hills, while avoiding the word “Baptist” in its name”

    What makes you think that David Platt has had anything to do with the name? Just curious, I didn’t see that in the article. I didn’t get the feeling from the article that Platt or the church was somehow not giving the SBC credit for anything, but maybe I missed it. After all, the SBC was started to fund and move forward mission work for likeminded churches.

  3. kellyboro said,

    Regardless of what you get out of the article I think that change is happening and it is taking place with younger pastors that are getting back to preaching the word and not more concerned with some political cause. I attend a sbc church and we have a 40 yr old pastor that preaches verse by verse and its been a long time since I’ve seen that at any sbc church I’ve attended. The older leadership of the SBC are on the defensive as seen from the founders blog of this years yearly conference.

    God Bless,
    Kelly

  4. daxw said,

    Russ,
    Yeah, you’re right. That was a false assumption on my part. I went on their website and after clicking on the “About Us” link and then clicking on the “Who Do We Hang Out With?” link I finally saw the affiliation with the SBC. So I guess it was wrong of me to assume that they didn’t want to give credit to the SBC for anything when all I had to do was scroll through three pages to find out they were in it.
    It looks like they have a lot of good things going on at Brook Hills. Cool website. It also looks like I’ve thrown off the boxers and strapped on some briefs that are two sizes too small.:)
    I wish I could make up my mind which ones I prefer.
    Later,
    Dax

  5. sosipater said,

    Kelly,

    I agree man. Good thoughts.

    Dax,

    I hear you too bro and feel your discomfort. Perhaps boxer/briefs would be a good transition?

    Russ

  6. sosipater said,

    Just to follow up, I downloaded two of Pastor Platts’s sermons and thought they were good. In the second one he quoted from memory Romans 1-8 and made some real good points about what our love for and desire of the Word of God should be. The other sermon was focused on Discipling the Nations and had a solid focus on missions.

    Sidenote: My wife actually knows David Platt from college and I had no idea of that when I first posted this.


Leave a Reply

