Follower of The Way


Becoming Conversant

Posted in Christian Theology,emergent church by sosipater on August 16, 2006

I have finished reading Becoming Conversant with the Emergent Church:  Understanding a Movement and its Implications by D.A. Carson, and I thought it was great.  On any future books I read of this magnitude I’m going to try and review them by chapter, or at least take notes so I can try and review them on my blog.  As far as this book goes, I won’t review it but say if you are interested in the Emergent/Emerging church movement, the difference between premodern, modern, and post-modern epistemology, the ability to know truth, and issues related to culture and truth, then I think you would enjoy this book.  I found D.A. Carson to write with knowledge, balance, and grace.  This is a great book for the times and I highly recommend it.

Here are two reviews I recommed also that could tell you about it much better than I can.  Here is the review over at Discerning Reader by Tim Challies (I think).  A more thorough review can be found here by Paul Alexander at 9Marks.

Leave a Reply

