Follower of The Way


Age of Accountability?

Posted in Christian Theology by sosipater on August 2, 2006

I have been reminded lately of the important work of the Alliance of Confessing Evangelicals.  Their call is for evangelical churches to remain faithful to the historic, biblical gospel. 

I wanted to bring to your attention the latest question and answer featured on their web site.  The question is, Is there an age of accountability?  Good short answer.

4 Responses to 'Age of Accountability?'

Subscribe to comments with RSS or TrackBack to 'Age of Accountability?'.

  1. stevethomas67 said,

    Great article!I agree completely.I remember growing up in an SBC church where they believed in an age of accountability which was somewhere around 12.That is usually the age most kids go up to “get saved”.That was the age I did it.I thought well I’m glad I got that out of the way.One less thing to worry about.MaCarthur calls it a condition of accountability in his book Safe in the Arms of God.Many reformed people are scared to teach or believe this because they believe the scriptures are silent on this.We may not have “thus sayeth the Lord” on this,but I believe by understanding the character of God and the few inferences of scripture on this subject you can believe that infants who die are elect and go to heaven.

  2. sosipater said,

    Steve,

    Well, I’ve got more time now to comment a little bit. As you probably know, my experience was very similar to yours. I liked the article and how he drew out that we need to expect spiritual growth from Children (or anyone) that profess faith. Bottom line is it is very consistent and “reformed” to have an understanding of this issue that takes into account all of scripture as well as God’s character.

    No worries though, we will all have the answer to this and other questions once the kingdom is consummated.

  3. peculiarbaptist said,

    First of all Russ, sure leave blogspot and come to WordPress fine. Make me get an account so I can comment here. (Don’t mind me I’ll just sit here alone in the dark).

    Second that age of accountability article is spot on.

    Pete Nelson
    http://peculiarbaptist.blogspot.com

  4. sosipater said,

    Pete,

    If my blog over at blogspot looked as good as yours, I wouldn’t have left!

    The question is, when will I get added to the “blogs I frequent” category???

    🙂

    Russ


Leave a Reply

