Follower of The Way


Superman Returns

Posted in Christ and Culture by sosipater on July 26, 2006

I liked “Superman Returns”.  I thought it was very cool.  I have heard complaints ranging from Superman is a bad role model because he doesn’t raise his son (he’s Superman, if he raised his son every bad guy in the world would be after him, isn’t that pretty obvious?) to the fact that the movie noticably left out “the American way” in “truth, justice, and the American way”.  My first reaction to the latter was…big deal.  I’m as patriotic as the next guy, but come on. 

This article at Christianity Today talks about that a little. 

(Disclaimer:  In the article, the author quotes a curse word.  If this will offend you please do not read it.  Thanks.)

4 Responses to 'Superman Returns'

Subscribe to comments with RSS or TrackBack to 'Superman Returns'.

  1. daxw said,

    I think the new Superman does represent the American way-have a child out of wedlock,put your career first,then try to make up for lost time with your child after you’ve done all that you wanted to do-The sad part about it is-it is the way many “church members” approach life also

  2. sosipater said,

    Dax,

    Ummm…yea, that does sound like the “American Way”, but I’m not sure Superman portrays that. One problem is that this movie is supposed to take place after Superman II, where Superman gives up his powers to marry Lois, and they do get married, but he needs to get his powers back to stop Zod. So, technically they could have been married and that would explain how he fathered a child, since the powered-up version of Superman supposedly could not have children with humans. The only problem with this is that in “Superman Returns” I think Lois Lane knows Superman is the father, although that wasn’t made totally clear.  Also, as explained in my post, if Superman did actually raise the boy now he would probably be a target for the bad guys, and that wouldn’t be a very responsible action, or would it?

    Look, I know this is a fictional story, but my whole point was not to get so hung up on fictional stories, when in the end, I though there were some very interesting/positive themes in the movie. And I thought it was cool too!

  3. daxw said,

    I agree with you. I thought the qoutes used in the article were going way overboard about the movie. These are the same people who think your salvation is directly tied to your political party affiliation. The author does a good job exposing their line of thought. I guess these individuals would be in the whitey-tightey crowd? I guess whether or not it wouldn’t be responsible to raise his son for fear of exposure to bad guys would be what you consider the “duties of parents” to be. Ha-ha. This is fictional entertainment and I think that is what people need to remember. If you don’t like it don’t watch it. Just be sure you can give a sound reason why you’re not. Sometimes(most of the time) Bible thumping legalists do more harm than good when it comes to engaging the culture. I should know-I’ve been trying to break out of that mold for quite some time.
    Dax

  4. sosipater said,

    Dax,

    Good words. I agree. I’m trying to break out of the mold also.

    RJ


Leave a Reply

