Follower of The Way


Confession of a Murderer Deux

Posted in Imago Dei by sosipater on July 14, 2006

I used to be shocked at the behavior of some people.  I still get shocked, but at least now I understand why some people behave like they are depraved.  It is because they are. 

Then when I got over being shocked at what those who do not profess the name of Christ do, I was still shocked at what some who do profess the name of Christ do.  Now I am beginning to not even be shocked by those who profess Christ.  Maybe you are thinking about my recent post on Ann Lamott.  Well, this one may beat that.

Again we are informed by Russell Moore, this time about Donna Schaper, a Baptist “pastor” who is apparently not very ashamed about the fact that she murdered her own child.  Here are her own words.

“I did what was right for me, for my family, for my work, for my husband, and for my three children. I happen to agree that abortion is a form of murder. I think the quarrel about when life begins is disrespectful to the fetus. I know I murdered the life within me. I could have loved that life but chose not to. I did what men do all the time when they take us to war: they choose violence because, while they believe it is bad, it is still better than the alternatives.”

Again, as Dr. Moore points out, what is interesting is Ms. Shaper’s inability to really believe what she is saying, that is, that what she did was morally justifiable and “ok”.  She names her child “Alma”, which means soul. My initial response is to pray that God would open her eyes to her sin and her need for The Savior, and to ponder on the fact that Jesus has taken on himself, at the cross, all the horrible sins of His elect, including mine.  Wow.

Leave a Reply

